McDonald’s mobile app — UI/UX Redesign Cases Study

Tomi fadilah
7 min readJan 7, 2021

--

Introduction

Hello, before I discuss this case study I would like to say a happy new year 2021 to everyone, I hope that this year’s hopes can all be achieved and can maximize time,
so now I want to discuss my case study regarding 2 McDonald’s applications, namely; The McDonald’s app and McDelivery app, with various aspects in these 2 applications, I have a thought that hopes to help all McD customers can more easily get their favorite menu or what they want. Hope this really helps!

About McDonald’s

McDonald’s Corporation is an American fast food company, founded in 1940 as a restaurant operated by Richard and Maurice McDonald, in San Bernardino, California, United States. They refilled their business as a hamburger stall, and later turned the company into a franchise, with the Golden Arches logo being introduced in 1953 at a location in Phoenix, Arizona. In 1955, Ray Kroc, a businessman, joined the company as a franchise agent and began buying chains from the McDonald brothers. McDonald’s had its original headquarters in Oak Brook, Illinois, but moved its world headquarters to Chicago in June 2018

The first McDonald’s restaurant in Indonesia is located in the Sarinah building, Jalan M. H. Thamrin, Jakarta and opened on 23 February 1991. Unlike most McDonald’s restaurants abroad, McDonald’s also sells fried chicken and rice in its restaurants in Indonesia.

Hypothesis

Trying to think by looking at the trend developments carried out by fast food or competitive companies. And looking at the current environmental conditions, the level of crowds and free air must be greatly exercised,
We know that in the McDonald’s app there is a McDelivery app as well, but with a system that doesn’t match the McDonald’s app, like the initial User Interface. And after I studied the flow between 2 McDonald’s applications, I can conclude that the irregularity occurs because the flow is different in each application itself

  1. Seeing the development of the current fast food trend, it is very innovative and creative, from giving discounts on certain days to ordering only via mobile, if purchasing via mobile you must have a driver for delivery of their customer orders, but the McDelivery app cannot be used
    The menus available in the McDonald’s app and McDelivery also have several menus that are not between the 2 McD applications, and the user is forced to use the app,
  2. I have to install 2 McD applications, it is very wasteful, why should it be separated into 2 applications and inconvenient users have to use different applications if you want to buy at an outlet with the McDonald’s app and if you want to buy via delivery with McDelivery.
  3. I did not find how to save a favorite menu in the McDonald’s app and view the complete and clear order history of every purchase

Objectives

Starting from the results of my hypothesis above, I began to have hopes of improving it, namely by combining 2 McDonald’s applications into 1 to become complex. But before I make it all up, there are some things that I need and hope for, that is;

  1. Find out how users use this application
  2. Do hypothesis testing and Back up my hypothesis with data
  3. Find pain points in the user experience
  4. Make solutions to solve those pain points
  5. Validate the proposed solution

Process

on the process of creating good applications using the Design Thinking by Stanford method

Design Thinking By Stanford

01. Empathize

In this research, I had to invite other people for user interviews and usability testing with a minimum of 5 people, and I contacted my colleagues to be willing or not to be the audience in user interviews and usability testing in order to produce good results.

Usability Testing

I assign tasks to my audience of 5. “To buy the same menu in the McDonald’s on outlet and McDelivery on home application?”

  • How is the flow in the process of ordering the same menu in 2 different McD applications?
  • What if you want to order the same menu on different days?

In this task, I want to see the behavior of each audience in the ordering process and want to know their feelings and thoughts when using 2 McD applications

key findings:

  • Scrolling : Audience is confused to find the same menu on the 2 McD applications,
  • In & Out Page : Audience find it difficult to find the same menu until it opens all pages

User Interview

After I did Usability Testing, I also interviewed the same 5 people to further validate the problem. I want to know whether my hypothesis is validated or not through this user interview. I also asked what motivated them to use this application and what they used it for.

  • What problems do the audience feel?
  • What features or other things are needed by the audience?
  • When do the audience want to use the McDonald’s app and McDelivery app?
  • Why does the audience want to use the 2 McD applications, besides helping me in this research process?

Key Findngs:

  • all audiences have difficulty finding the same menu between Mcd 2 applications, and cannot order other menus before the transaction is made
  • Save the favorite menu makes it easier to find the menu you like and add carts to get other menus before the transaction is made, also combines the McD 2 applications into 1 application because it is wasteful of phone storage
  • all audience said; McDonald’s app for eating at outlets or during hangouts and you can choose a menu before arriving at the outlet so you don’t have to think about the menu you want to order. And McDelivery is used at home or in the office where the time and distance require a lot of time
  • If these 2 applications can become 1 application, it makes it very easy for us to order the menu and have more confidence in being sure that the official courier from McD delivers the order so that we as the audience are not worried about all negative thoughts and doubts.

02. DEFINE

Affinity Mapping

User Persona

Job Stories

I also used the jobs to be done framework to create job statements based on user interviews to further understand their motivations, situations, and outcomes,

Define Problem

Paint Point :

  • Favorite Feature & Confusing Order History
  • Layout Is Old
  • Use Navigation Is Not Easy
  • Use 2 Different Applications (Delivery Order and Order On Outlet)

I benefit from not including the interfaces of the 2 McD applications, because there is a prohibition to share their interfaces, if you want to see the interfaces of the 2 McD applications, you can download them at the appstore and playstore. Thank you, please understanding

03. IDEATE

Wireframe

High Fidelity

Design Solution

04. Testing and Validation

After creating the prototype, I tested my solutions using the same usability test task/questions from my initial tests. To measure success during validation is to see how the user can perform a given task without significant difficulty. To compare usability and to prove with new design increase reading interest. I do usability to 5 audience also targeted people with a similar background to my initial users.

Feedback from Participant

All of the audience felt good after seeing the results

  • Be flexible and broad
  • Reduce iPhone storage
  • Shorten usage behavior

Conclusion

From the results of the above validation and through the design stage, this helps in making the user behavior easier to experience, but it still needs to be iterated for several points

Reflection

From this case study, I learned not to let my own biases and presumptions affect my design decision. It is very easy to assume we know what is best for the product and users. From that assumption, I try to validate whether my assumptions are also perceived by other users

Thank you for reading If you found this helpful please give me your clap and your thought or feedbacks on the comment below or by sending a message box to hola.tomifadilah@gmail.com

Lastly, if you’d like to see more of my work you can visit the other of My Portfolio here or you can visit My LinkedIn profile to connect with me!

--

--